Today’s Featured Author: Stacy Eaton

Today I welcome author Stacy Eaton to my blog. Her book, Second Shield, was released earlier this month.

Interview 

Do you write full-time? If so, what is your work day like? If not, what do you do other than write and how do you find time to write?

Some days I wish that I wrote full time, but then I remember if I did that, where would I get my ideas. So for now I will stick to my job as a detective. For almost fourteen years I have been in law enforcement and all of my books take place in that world, although some are also in the paranormal world.

As for what my work day is like, no two days are the same and I am on the go from the moment I step into the station between 6:30 and 7:00 in the morning until I walk out in the late afternoon, usually between 3 and 4. Sometimes I don’t get out until 7 or 8 at night. It all depends on the cases that come in or what evidence is discovered. A few months ago we had a homicide. I worked 16 hour days for 8 days straight.

When it comes to finding time to write, sometimes I will fit in a few hundred words at 5 in the morning. Most times, it’s one weekend a month that I lock myself in my office and write. I have been known to get 18,000 words written in one day. So two of those days is about half a book.

What fuels you as an author to continue to write?

The voices in my head give me the energy and the need to write.  With my full time job, I live with a lot of stress all the time. Allowing the creative voices inside my head, I can escape the daily drama and move into a world where I have total control on the outcomes, unlike real life where you don’t always have control.

How do you conceive your plot ideas?

Most ideas are just born. It’s like in the blink of an idea, I go, hey what if… And then I dwell on that what if and it becomes a story. When I wrote Whether I’ll Live or Die, my domestic violence novel, I had the entire plot line figured out in a matter of forty-five minutes. I even knew the title.

Do you outline your books or just start writing?

I have never outlined a book before. Most times I know exactly how I want the story to start, I know who the characters are and I sit down and write. About a third of the way through, I write the ending. Then I go back and fill in the space in between to get from point A to point B.

Please tell us about your current release.

I have actually released two book very recently. Liveon came out in November and it is a contemporary romance. But, the one I want to share with you today is Second Shield. This one was just released!

Second Shield is another romance and like all my books is set in the law enforcement world. Here’s the blurb for that:

second-shield-AmznDetective Sergeant Mackenzie McAllister leads a team of police investigators. When the new kid, Drew Bradley, joins the squad, she has to teach him the ropes. The chemistry between them is intense, but with Mack being twelve years older, she fights becoming entangled with this young sexy detective.

Drew enters the unit, not only to help with the investigation they are conducting, but to find out what is really going on inside the walls of the unit. Working with the intense and strict Sergeant Mack is invigorating, but between the need to protect her and his second shield, he is at a loss and falling hard.

Together they will uncover the evil from within, and try to deny the chemistry that rages between them. Who in her unit is trying to keep her from finding out the truth? Who will take a life that will draw them closer? And what are the secrets Drew hides behind his Second Shield?

Did you base any of your characters on real people?

Strangely enough I did. Although most people in my books are based off people I know, when I wrote Second Shield I had a very specific person in mind.

Earlier this year, I worked a big burglary investigation with another local detective that I didn’t know.  He was awesome. Not only was he great at what he did, but he was a really nice guy, and hotter than sin! He is also 16 years younger than me and you know those fantasies us older woman have of being coveted by a young man, well that is where the idea came from.

If this book is part of a series, what is the next book? Any details you can share?

I finished Second Shield one day and the very next day, I wrote three chapter of Second Shield II, The Return.  Things are over between Mack and Drew and hopefully in book 2, I can either move them on their way or give them a happily ever after.  Although I am known for not always giving the reader what they thought they were getting. I have a way of spinning things and changing it up at the last minute.

What I can say is that Mack will be neck deep in another major case and her personal life will be a whirlwind that she needs to find time to deal with.

If you could be one of the characters from any of your books, who would it be and why?

 I would have to say Corey from Garda ~ Welcome to the Realm. She is so kick-butt awesome. I describe her in the book as having the face of an angel and a heart to match, but don’t piss her off. Corey is a police officer who falls in love with a married man and then dies in the line of duty. She enters the Realm and trains to be a Garda, a Guardian.  Corey is assigned to protect the man she loved, Mitch, but her feelings for him could cause her to fall from grace. I forgot to mention she has this strange chemistry and connection with Brock, her Garda. I love her story, love her character.

Is there a specific place in the house (or out of the house) that you like to write?

I tend to do most of my writing in my office. Although from time to time, I will write just about anywhere. I have been known to bring my tablet to my daughter’s Tae Kwon Do classes and sit in a corner and type away. Sometimes I have even sat in my car and worked on a chapter. I keep an electronic device with me at all times, because you never know when a thought will hit you that you need to put down.

Thank you so very much for allowing me to come visit with you!!! I am so excited to be here!

About the Author

stacy eatonStacy is a full-time law enforcement officer, currently assigned as the department detective. She enjoys crime scene investigation above all else and has a passion for putting the pieces together to figure out the crime. She is a mother of two, a son proudly serving in the United States Navy and a young daughter who is very close to obtaining her black belt in Tae Kwon Do. Her husband is also a law enforcement officer. Stacy enjoys photography, reading and making jewelry when she is relaxing.

You can find out more about Stacy on her website or follow her on Twitter or Facebook.

You can buy Second Shield on Amazon or Barnes & Noble.

One thought on “Today’s Featured Author: Stacy Eaton

  1. Thank you very much for allowing me to visit today!!! Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

