Thanksgiving with the family…and I am thankful for that

thanksgivingLast year, I wrote about trying to divide up the holidays. (My in-laws had moved near us and we had traditionally been spending both holidays with my parents who already lived near by.) This year for a while I thought we might have trouble figuring out what to do on Thanksgiving. Both my family and my husband’s family have relatives in town this week.

My brother, his wife and her son have been planning their trip since August. They are driving in from Albuquerque after school gets out on Wednesday. They will be here through Saturday.

Then at the end of October, we found out my husband’s cousin, husband, and son would be in town for her older son’s graduation from Air Force basic training at Lackland AFB. This also means her parents (my husband’s aunt and uncle) will be coming into town. Luckily for us, they all have other relatives to stay with. And as it turns out, none of them expect to spend Thanksgiving with us.

And that is a good thing as I already had plans to be at my parents’ house as we have been for the past 10 years. This year will be slightly different. Instead of cooking a big dinner, my parents are picking up a pre-cooked turkey dinner from the local grocery store. As I post this, my mom will have been out of the hospital probably less than two weeks after having spent 20 days in ICU/PCU followed by about 21 days in rehabilitation after having complications from a tumor being removed from her skull back in August.  (Yes, it has been an interesting and stressful four months for all of us – particularly my mom, but she is doing awesome.)

So this year, I am just thankful to have my family around me. I am glad my mom is doing better and am glad I could witness the amount of strength she has to overcome everything that has happened. I am proud of my dad for always being there and supporting her. I am happy that my brother will finally be here for a visit and is bringing his wife and her son who I am still getting to know.

And how can I not be thankful for my wonderful kids – Lexie and Jase. They bring such joy, excitement and yes, even frustration into my life. I am thankful that we have the means to have some great animals as part of our family. I am especially happy that we added puppy Sadie Rose to our family in October, though I am still not sure the cats like that decision.

And before he thinks I left him out – I am thankful for my husband. He had the courage to start his own business recently and through the ups and downs of that new business, he has always provided for his family. I love that he is willing to work so hard so I can stay at home and raise our two kids. I also am grateful that he puts up with all my obsessing and planning – especially in regards to our upcoming trip to Disney World. Thank you, dear!

Leave a Reply

