Finding the perfect place to write

I have written before about finding the time to write (which sometimes in my case is a nearly impossible task). But today, I thought I would talk about the perfect place to write; some place that allows the creativity to flow, a place with few interruptions.

Actually, the perfect place is going to be an individual preference. The perfect place for me might stifle your creativity while your perfect place might be too distracting for me. Having a designated, private spot in which to do your writing can help switch you into “writing-mode” and block out the rest of the world (if that is what you desire). But of course, the most important thing is to write when and where you are able. The trick is finding a place tailored to your style, needs and comfort.

Basic requirements

First, let me tell you about a few basic requirements that I need for a place to write. I need a place where I am undisturbed. I have kids so my best bet is to write while they are out of the house. I don’t even think I could work at a restaurant if the waitress is going to continually check on me. I don’t even like to sit by the window. It is too distracting. But for someone else, sitting by a window may provide inspiration.

The area needs to be well lit and have a clean space for any notebooks or other books. And since I don’t do well with distractions, I need my workplace to be quiet. I know quite a few writers who like to have music on when they write but not me.

For some people (again, not me), it might be easiest to be close to resources you need. And by this, I am thinking a dictionary, thesaurus or even the Internet to do research (though the Internet can be a time waster if you aren’t careful.)

Locations Inside the Home

I know a few authors that type their books on a laptop. They snuggle up in bed (often with a cat) and type away. They are able to spread out their paperwork on the bed and hey, if you need a nap, you don’t even have to get up.

deskAs for me, I use our home office for my writing. I have my own desk and computer and am able to spread out my stuff beside me. No one else is going to want to use my computer, and I don’t have to fear someone coming in and messing with my stuff. But if you share a space or have little kids, you might want a lockable drawer or file cabinet where you can store your materials. There is nothing worse than finding your papers “rearranged” or moved because someone else was using your desk.

Others don’t have a set place and must pull out their laptop or notebook on the kitchen table or while relaxing on the living room couch.

If you share your place with someone else and live in a really small place, finding a writing place may be hard – especially if you aren’t going to get a lot of privacy. Your best bet might be to try someplace outside the house.

Locations Outside the Home

Now the only time I have really written outside my house beyond in a hotel room while on vacation is to write while waiting for my kids to finish an activity. I take my iPad with me to my son’s karate class, and I used to always have a pad of paper with me while waiting in the car line to pick up my daughter from school. For me writing outside the house was more of a necessity rather than my preference.

laptopBut some authors thrive on writing away from home. They pack up their laptop (or notebook) and head to the local café or Starbucks. Or they might find a cozy, quiet nook in the library to write. If the weather is nice, many authors sit on their back porch or go to the park to write.

All of these are perfectly good options. It is just a matter of finding what works for you. And if your usual place is stifling you, then try somewhere new. A change of location may just be what it takes to get your creative juices flowing again. The important thing is that you actually are able to WRITE.

2 thoughts on “Finding the perfect place to write

  1. I am always trying to improve my writing area – see here: http://mandyevebarnett.com/2013/08/11/writing-area-re-organization/
    In a perfect world I would have a separate room to call my own…one day when my nest is empty! When I need silence I use my local library which is amazing http://www.sclibrary.ab.ca/newlibrary.htm – we count ourselves very lucky to have such a wonderful library.
    To counteract the TV noise at home I plug in my headphones and disappear into my own creative world.

  2. G.B. Miller says:

    Basically, I have two places that I call my writing area: the great outdoors when I want to write blog posts (by hand naturally) and my mini-man cave when I want to work on a story. It’s funny, while noise is a good thing sitting outside, I need complete silence to write indoors. Because of that inability to get what I need indoors, I’ve taken to listening to my stereo with headphones in order to write in peace.

Leave a Reply

