The excitement and nerves of the first day of school

IMG_1277Today is the first day of school for Lexie and Jase.

Jase is beginning the second grade. He is excited though I am sure nerves will begin to hit as we walk through the door. Last year, I didn’t even walk him to his class. He said good-bye at the front door. But this year, his baby sister starts kindergarten. I figure he will want to walk her to her classroom.

Yes, my youngest is starting kinder today. And while I know some parents will shed a tear as they drop their “babies” off at school, I won’t be one of them. I have never seen this as a sad day. I am excited that she is entering this next stage of childhood. She has gone to preschool for the past two years so really school is nothing new to her. But this year she is at the “big” school with her brother.

Lexie is sure they will see each other throughout the day. All summer she has been asking if they will play on the playground or sit together at lunch time. Jase has patiently been telling her that no, those things won’t happen. He will be with the second graders, and she will be with her kinder class.

I am unsure how this morning will go. For the past two weeks, we have been trying to prepare the kids for getting up early but have yet to make them get up at 6:30. Lexie loves her sleep, so I expect it to be difficult to wake her up. Or she could be excited about Kinder and pop awake.

I don’t imagine getting them ready will be a problem. They will be excited and we walk with friends from the neighborhood, so there is that motivation for getting out the door on time. What I wonder about is how Lexie will do when I leave her in her classroom? She is typically an out-going, friendly girl. She has no problem introducing herself to other children. But when she sees the other nervous kindergartners will this cause her to worry too?

I am not one to stay long at the school. I will walk Lexie to class and see that she is settled in her assigned seat. As I said, I imagine Jase will come with us. After a quick reassurance that I will pick her up on the school patio at the end of the day, I will have to walk away. No, not a tear in the eye but with the knowledge that Lexie is ready for this new challenge.

That isn’t to say that I won’t be a tad sad when I walk in the door to the house and realize the kids are gone all day. Heck, who am I kidding? I have too much to do to worry about the kids.

One thought on “The excitement and nerves of the first day of school

  1. Joan Lindgren says:

    I’m sure they’ll do great. I never had a twinge of regret sending my two to school. Of course that may have been partially because I was an elementary teacher.

Leave a Reply

