Today’s Featured Author: A. Wrighton

Today I am pleased to welcome fellow fantasy author A. Wrighton to my blog.

Interview

Where were you born and where do you call home?

I’m one of those weirdos who is from Los Angeles and then stays there to live and work in Los Angeles. Side note, I have visited/lived in 43 states so I have left my sunny sandbox but, I am an oddity. I currently live along the Los Angeles/Ventura County border lurking closer to the marine layer and beaches.

Do you write full-time? If so, what is your work day like? If not, what do you do other than write and how do you find time to write?

I do write full time, but I also have a day job. I guess that means I work two full time jobs… which probably explains why I don’t really sleep. My day job entails the entertainment industry, agents, and casting directors – it’s 100 miles a minute and non-stop creative & challenging fun. Every moment I have a break at work (lunch) or at home (single mom) I am writing. I write in the car with Bluetooth audio notes. I scribble scenes and dialogue in notebooks and napkins. I just don’t stop. I’m sure when I’m older it will catch up to me but until then I’ll keep on trucking.

How do you conceive your plot ideas?

Random sparks. Random thoughts. I see a little girl stare into space too long and I imagine what she’s looking at. I think of a sneezing attack and I wonder what might really be the cause. I read, I watch documentaries, and I just enjoy life. There are endless possibilities and if I just relax, they’ll hit me. I may not start writing them all into full concepts just yet, but I keep a file of story sparks (ideas) and anything I’ve thought of in relation to them.

Please tell us about your current release.

My current release is the first book in a genre-bending fantasy series called Dragonics & Runics – Defiance. It introduces the story of a resistance movement composed of dragon riders determined to unleash a prophecy to dethrone a tyrannical dictator that has done the unthinkable – a magic genocide. Defiance gets the ball rolling and introduces the key players on both sides of the battle – Council and Resistance. It also gives hope and inspiration that nothing is as it seems and that sometimes the definitive line between good and evil is actually quite blurred. Defiance also introduces my style of writing where I genre-bend (or blend) and push the boundaries of traditional genre fiction.

Did you base any of your characters on real people?

Yes, historical personas and some real life people I have encountered or learned about in passing. I think that many of my readers know who is who historically in my novels as some are obvious (tyrannical genocide-hungry dictator ring a bell?) while others are quite intricate and delicately woven together so that who they might be isn’t revealed until much later on in the series.

Which of your characters is your favorite? Do you dislike any of them?

My two favorite characters haven’t actually appeared in the series yet so I can’t really say much about them. I always find it fascinating how different readers have different favorites. As for disliking? Hell yes. Out of all the baddies, I can’t stand Lady Diesden the most… which makes her quite fun to write.

 If this book is part of a series, what is the next book? Any details you can share?

The next book is set to be released late this summer and is called Allegiance: Dragonics & Runics Part II. This book continues where the first left off and rejoins the Rogue Dragonics and their Resistance movement to find the Five Catalysts and The One destined to save their realm with the prophecy. We get to meet a few new people and learn a little bit more about what happened politically and emotionally in the Soleran Realm for things to get as bad as they have been. And…happily, we get more insight into our Rogues and meet one of the strongest females in fantasy fiction (though I am biased).

If you could be one of the characters from any of your books, who would it be and why?

From Defiance: Dragonics & Runics Part I, I’d prefer to be Princess Chloe since she gets the best of everything. She’s a tomboy, a princess, a ruler, and a friend of dragon riders who’ll do anything for her. Hello? Free dragon rides! That, and she has one hell of a personality on her and her dresses are beautiful too.

Do you have a specific snack that you have with you when you write?

Green grapes, ice water, dried cranberries, yogurt, granola & Café du Monde French Roast coffee with hazelnut and vanilla. Oh, and sometimes I like to make Elvis Crackers (graham crackers, peanut butter, chocolate chips, and banana).

Do you have an all time favorite book?

Lewis Carroll’s Through the Looking Glass is an absolute favorite of mine. I love the written material, the poetry, the movies, everything. And man, did Tim Burton nail it. I could fall asleep to that rendition over and over and over… you get the idea.

If you could meet two authors, who would you pick and why?

Jane Austen because she is a quintessential chic lit author and because she had this amazing way of creating and revealing characters. Man, to pick her brain for five minutes would be divine. The other author I’d like to meet would be Hemingway – sober. Okay, so that might come off as a cheap shot but he was a genius sober – writing. He was a creative crazy while drunk and depressed. To sit and have coffee with Hemingway in Spain would be a creative moment to remember for a lifetime. And, who knows, maybe I could convince him not to shoot himself… write more, ya know?

Tell us a random fact about you that we never would have guessed.

I have severe dyslexia. I got through high school by memorizing the text parts I would have to read out loud in class (having a photographic memory definitely helped). I took AP courses by the boatload and none of my teachers ever realized I was severely dyslexic – not even my English or Creative Writing teachers – until I took AP Calculus. Luckily, my calculus teacher worked with me so I’d not only pass but that I wouldn’t be flagged with a learning disorder. When I went to high school, if you were recorded as having a learning disorder, you couldn’t do extra curricular (I did theatre) and you couldn’t take as many AP classes as I wanted. If it hadn’t been for that teacher working with me through lunches and breaks, I wouldn’t have been able to jump into college the way I did. And no, none of my college professors – history, politics, linguistics, science, or writing – ever realized I was dyslexic. So yeah, thanks Mr. Mansfield. You are amazing and I owe you… about a billion solved equations.

Book Description

DefianceRule #1: Stay the Udlast away from the Dragons.

Rule #2: Defy the Council or die trying.

WHERE DOES IT END?

Over a generation ago, the Council ordered the systematic extermination of the magic wielding, Runic Race. In the face of the damning orders, a few Dragonics refused to participate and instead demanded justice. But their call to defiance came too late – no Runics survived. Now, those against the Council’s oppressive reign have long since been outcast to the fringes of society – their numbers and determination dwindling.

Alaister Paine, Commander of the Rogue Dragonics, leads the Resistance with little hope of success, until he deciphers one of his predecessor’s logs. Within the cryptic text, Alaister reveals that one Runic – a girl of untold power – was hidden from the Council’s grasp. Find the girl, and the Rogues will finally be able to enact a long lost Prophecy to bring freedom back to Solera.

Trouble is… they are not the only ones searching for the last Soleran Runic.

Check out the book trailer for Defiance AND also for the upcoming Allegiance.

About the Author

A WrightonA. Wrighton has been imagining flights of wild fancy since before she could figure out how to tie her shoes. Her love of writing, creating, and imagination has led her through a life full of flights of fancy and amazing adventures. A. Wrighton’s literary efforts were first noticed in grade school and again in college where she was held at grade point and commanded to switch majors and write. Since that fateful day in autumn, she has followed her creativity’s calling and went forward to earn honors in a BA in English as well as honors in a MFA in Creative Writing.

A. Wrighton writes sci-fi/fantasy (her passion), historical fiction, character-driven fiction, romance, and suspense. She also writes feature screenplays, TV spec scripts, and the occasional short film. Her literary influences include: Jane Austen, Ernest Hemingway, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Anne McCaffrey, Simon Winchester, T.A. Barron, & Agatha Christie. In her spare time, A. Wrighton mentors fellow writers – local and online – and hosts a developmental editing service.

A. Wrighton resides somewhere in the beautiful Ventura County and loves her native city of Los Angeles. She lives with her amazing family and two dogs and often finds herself writing in little neighborhood joints – a cup of coffee or tea at her side.

You can find out more about A. Wrighton on her website or on Dragonics & Runics Series website.

You can also follow her on Twitter or Facebook.

You can purchase Defiance: Dragonics & Runics Part 1 on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

