W is for Writing Challenges #AtoZChallenge

WWe are almost at the end of the A to Z Challenge. Today’s letter is W. I could write about writer’s block, but I have already covered that in a past post. So I decided to talk about Writing challenges.

I like participating in writing challenges such as the A to Z challenge. (This is technically a blogging challenge, but blogging involves writing so it qualifies in my book.) If I have the time and I see a writing challenge, I will certainly participate. (The key there would be having the time – see my Juggling Jobs post.)

My favorite challenges have been by my local newspaper. Twice they have asked readers to send in a “story” written on Twitter. Yep, that is telling a “story” in only about 125 characters. (It can’t be 140 characters since you have to include their hashtag.)

The first one was in October 2012 when they asked for horror stories for Halloween. Here are two of mine that were published in the newspaper.

His fangs lock on the zombie’s neck. Growling, he thrashes his head as he saves me. Never walk in a graveyard without your dog.

Tap, drag, tap, drag. The harried breathing gets louder as it nears. A zombie? A ghoul? What can it be? Oh, it is just Grandpa.

And the last challenge was this January when they asked us to write romance stories. Here is the one that was published this time. (To see the other, click here.)

Kids arguing, baby crying, dog barking, washing machine overflowing. He comes home with flowers and an “I love you, honey”

Yes, writing challenges can be a great way to stir up some creativity and these Twitter challenges luckily don’t take up a lot of my time. I can only hope our newspaper will come up with a few more.

2 thoughts on “W is for Writing Challenges #AtoZChallenge

  1. Great post. Those (very short) stories are wonderful.

  2. Lydia says:

    LOVE the twitter stories. I teach high school English. That would be a fabulous activity. :) Visiting from the #atozchallenge

Leave a Reply

