Today’s Featured Author: Hyrum Laney

Today I have Hryum Laney on my blog discussing Time Bomb Ticking, the first book in his Die Hard Patriots political thriller series.

Interview 

Where were you born and where do you call home?

I was born in Utah, but I have two homes here in Western Oregon. My summer home is out in the field, in the cab of a tractor or combine. My winter home looks over the field and has a dinner table and computer.

What or who inspired you to start writing?

I had a college professor tell me I could write for a living. Her statement was very gratifying, but at the time I had little interest to write. Twenty years later that changed and I began to dabble in the art.

When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I spent twelve years writing my first two novels. I made several attempts to write about the mission into the Bo Hai Bay, but wasn’t satisfied with the manuscript. So I wrote the second book in the series, which turned out much better. Then I went back and wrote the final version of Time Bomb Ticking. That version took three and a half years. During that time, I told less than two dozen people I was writing anything, because I didn’t want any pressure. I didn’t consider myself an author until the day my novel became available on Amazon.

Have you started your next project? If so, can you share a little bit about your next book?

Yes, my next novel is in the works and should be out in the fall of 2013. It’s a political thriller and I hope readers will ponder the possibilities it raises.

Do you write full-time? If so, what is your work day like? If not, what do you do other than write and how do you find time to write?

No. I work when the farm calls. I prefer to write when the weather is bad or it’s dark.

What is the best and worst advice you ever received? (regarding writing or publishing)

The worst advice was to go the traditional route, i.e. by getting an agent and then trying to find a publisher.

What fuels you as an author to continue to write?

The Die Hard Patriots series revolves around several issues that could threaten our national security. One issue in particular was the motivating factor in writing the series and will be the keystone of book three.

What kind of research did you do for this book?

Most of the information I used came from the internet. In the end I was able to acquire a source that added clarity to the technical elements and jargon used by submariners. You could say I had made a car, but this source put the wheels on it.

If this book is part of a series, what is the next book? Any details you can share?

The next book will be out this fall. It will answer all the lingering questions left hanging in TBT, and will set the stage for the next three books.

What was the most difficult thing/scene to write in this story?

Describing the inside of a Los Angeles class submarine. Just a bit tricky without ever having been on one.

Do you have an all time favorite book?

Uh…of course. The Hunt for Red October. That book is the benchmark for all submarine books. Not only was it an excellent story, but it was written at the right time—the last days of the cold war.

What book are you reading right now?

I just finished A Wanted Man, by Lee Child and plan on reading No Easy Day, by Mark Owen. I also hope to read Fearless by next fall. That said, my reading time fades as the summer farming season begins, and of course, I have another novel to write.

 Book Description

Time Bomb Ticking

Captain Larry McGraw is the best at underwater espionage. His Los Angeles class sub, the USS Charlotte, is designed to transport the Advanced SEAL Delivery System, a mini sub created to insert SEALs in dangerous places so they can spy, sabotage or eliminate ‘problems’ as needed. When the President suspects China is preparing to expand its borders in a hostile way, he orders McGraw to slip into the Bo Hai Bay-only 100 miles from the capital city of Beijing-and sit on the bottom while the SEALs conduct nighttime operations. Feasible, but rather risky in the shallow bay. Should the Chinese detect them, the only place to hide is the deep waters of the Ryukyu Trench 600 miles away, a journey that would be fraught with dangers. To make matters worse, Captain Jim Beecher and the USS Asheville will be stationed near the bays entrance to act as a decoy, should trouble arise. The two captains have an intense rivalry. McGraw isn’t sure he can trust Beecher. Little does he know that the fate of the Charlotte rests in Beecher’s hands.  Time Bomb Ticking is Book 1 of the Die-Hard Patriots, a Political Thriller Series.

About the Author

Hyrum Laney lives in western Oregon with his wife and three children. He farms forage grass seed, and writes when he’s not farming.With a keen interest in politics, he has blogged and written commentary on agricultural issues facing American farmers. As a fiscal conservative, he is concerned about the national debt and the dangers it poses to our national security and ultimately our liberties.

You can find out more about Hyrum on his website.

You can buy Time Bomb Ticking on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

